Handy Man Services Hawaii Customer Reviews:

5 star ratingRyan did the demolition work for our project singlehandedly and efficiently, first removing the old sink, kitchen cabinets and large built-in peninsula, then hauling away all the debris. When unexpected termite damage was discovered in one of the wood walls, he quickly repaired that section with drywall so painting could be completed with little delay. He is knowledgeable and experienced in many areas, a true "Handyman"!
MKN P. Avatar
MKN P.
1/22/2024
5 star ratingVery fast response time. Excellent service and very personable. I will definitely use him again.
D T. Avatar
D T.
6/11/2023
5 star ratingWe recently purchased a new home and love everything about it except the lack of storage - especially in the kitchen. Ryan was phenomenal in walking me through the process of identifying the cabinets I would need, ordering them and installing them. The whole process from initial consultation to installation was completed in one week! The result was a transformed kitchen space that is both beautiful and functional! Ryan's amazing attention to detail, professionalism, and incredible work ethic are three of many reasons why we highly recommend Handyman Services Hawaii. We are looking forward to working with Ryan again in the future.
Laurie B. Avatar
Laurie B.
4/04/2023
5 star ratingRyan came by and looked at a kitchen drawer I was having trouble with . It turns out that the project was more than I was willing to invest since I am in a rental. Ultimately he suggested I propose the project to the landlord. I really appreciated the honesty and integrity! I will definitely call Ryan in the future if I need a handyman!
Jessica M. Avatar
Jessica M.
2/20/2023
5 star ratingHighly recommend! Ryan, fixed my light and faucet in my Waliki condo promptly and with friendly service. He got back to me promptly and answered all my questions. Arrived on time. Generally a good guy with good prices! A+
Jon C. Avatar
Jon C.
2/01/2023
5 star ratingI had a problem with one of my door jambs in my apartment. I texted Handyman Services Hawaii a photo of my issue and he responded right away. He was able to be there within 30 minutes of me texting him. He completed the repair quickly and even explained to me how he had repaired it. Ryan was extremely responsive and very helpful. I will definitely use Handyman Services Hawaii again!
Jeffrey O. Avatar
Jeffrey O.
1/28/2023
5 star ratingMy 3 bedroom window screens have needed to be replaced for a while now, and at the spur of the moment I contacted Handyman Services Hawaii to make an appointment to replace/fix my screens. I believe I lucked out on the timing of my call as he was available for the quick fix and was at my place in 45 min and did a great job in about an hour. Ryan was friendly, easy to speak to, and very efficient. I will be using this company for any future handyman and remodeling needs.
Shari T. Avatar
Shari T.
1/27/2023
5 star ratingI was having a lot of problems in my apartment unit from water damaged drywall to drilling for concrete anchors. I called Ryan and the next day everything was fixed! He was very punctual and wasted no time fixing one thing after another. He is very friendly and even took the time to explain why issues were happening and how to prevent them in the future. Will definitely call him again when I need things done!
Jeff H. Avatar
Jeff H.
1/25/2023
5 star ratingRyan helped me out with simple install of garbage disposal in my condo in Waikiki. I really appreciated his professional manner and the fact that he didn't overcharge me for the install and unit was commendable. I picked him over the others because he was voted Best Handyman in 2020. Now I see why - he should be awarded Best Handyman again for 2022. Great job Ryan!
R K. Avatar
R K.
1/22/2023
5 star ratingRyan provided excellent service and was both prompt and courteous. He had all the tools and fasteners to do the job for us (grab bar replacement). He was very gentle with our old house. Very efficient and professional. Will definitely use him again. Recommend him without reservation.
Chauncey C. Avatar
Chauncey C.
1/16/2023
5 star ratingGreat service! Answered on the first ring and was very knowledgeable and friendly. Came over and resolved our issues immediately. Would use again!
James H. Avatar
James H.
1/10/2023
5 star ratingThis review has been removed for violating our Terms of Service
Dallas Unlock Car Q. Avatar
Dallas Unlock Car Q.
9/16/2022
5 star ratingThis review has been removed for violating our Terms of Service
J R. Avatar
J R.
9/03/2022
5 star ratingNot really sure where to begin. When I Initially contacted Ryan he let me know that he did not take every job but would absolutely point me in the right direction. Not only did he accept job he was true to his word in pointing me in the right direction for services that he was not contracted to complete. Ryan is extremely trustworthy! He agreed to work on our flooring project even though we had not yet arrived on island. He provided a very reasonable and detailed quote. Ryan sent updates almost daily. He notified me of issues/concerns as they arose. As for his work, good luck finding someone who can do a better job than Ryan on flooring. Our home looks amazing! He goes the extra mile to please his customers.
Dustin J. Avatar
Dustin J.
7/20/2022
5 star ratingAmazing!!!! Ryan is worth his weight in goldI had a disastrous experience with a company who was doing a renovation on my shower and had to fire them for very sub par workThis was especially challenging as ryan had to fix what they screwed upTear down and start from scratch Work was amazing: he is detailed oriented and takes pride in his work He installed a sophisticated mirror system with no directions and a box of loose screws ! He installed a high end vanity system I am so grateful It is especially refreshing that someone takes pride in their work He will always be the first call for further repairs Thank you so much ryan!
Katherine P. Avatar
Katherine P.
6/21/2022
5 star ratingWe called Ryan in a bit of a pickle as we needed drywall repair on a quick timeline after plumbers cut a hole in the wall. He was able to come the next day and fix it. He did amazing work and the wall looks better than before there was a hole in it! He was quick and curious. I recommend him for all your handyman needs!
Mary P. Avatar
Mary P.
5/12/2022
5 star ratingThis review has been removed for violating our Terms of Service
James F. Avatar
James F.
2/06/2022
5 star ratingOur home was burglarized on 1/25/2022. My purse and car were stolen. Ryan was kind enough to change our family room door through which the thief had broken in, the day of the break-in. He returned to also replace our front door which required ingenuity and great skill since our house is so old. Both doors look great--Ryan's workmanship is excellent. The best thing Ryan gave us was peace of mind, knowing our home is more secure now with solid doors.
Laurie K. Avatar
Laurie K.
2/02/2022
5 star ratingThis review has been removed for violating our Terms of Service
Tyreik T. Avatar
Tyreik T.
10/23/2021
5 star ratingRight as Covid was ramping up in Hawaii, I was tasked with rehabbing my very old Manoa house after family lived there for over 15 years. I called Ryan from the mainland (I live Cali) and we spoke about him installing laminate flooring. He agreed, but as we talked, I asked him about doing other projects for me. All in all, Ryan essentially became my handyman and project manager for essentially a complete home renovation.Ryan and his assistant/fiancee:-installed new laminate throughout-renovated 2 entire bathrooms, -repaired old doors and fixtures,-renovated the entire kitchen, cabinets, countertops and sink,-hired and supervised a painter for inside and out - who did a very great job quickly-a bunch of finish work- helped to install all my appliances.Without Ryan, I would have spend tens of thousands of dollars more on a contractor. Ryan never "upcharged"me on any of the supplies that he bought. Most of the time he was able to buy supplies at home depot with my credit card. Many times, he spent late hours to get the projects done and did them with quality craftsmanship. All in all, I would highly recommend Ryan for any and home improvement / installation / repair. If he is still available, I would book him quickly!!!
Norm P. Avatar
Norm P.
8/05/2021
5 star ratingThis review has been removed for violating our Terms of Service
Aaron G. Avatar
Aaron G.
6/05/2021
5 star ratingThis review has been removed for violating our Terms of Service
Paul V. Avatar
Paul V.
5/19/2020
5 star ratingI needed my flooring repaired immediately and could not find anyone to do it over a holiday weekend. Ryan answered right away and showed up that day ready to work. He finished the job quickly and most of all professionally. If you need something fixed around, don't hesitate and call Ryan.
Elizabeth N. Avatar
Elizabeth N.
9/01/2019
5 star ratingI've called Ryan for several different jobs and have been satisfied with each of them. He's friendly, efficient, and very accommodating in terms of flexibility in scheduling. He also does great work. I have hired him for a variety of jobs including work on exterior doors (deadbolt installation and installation of door sweeps), wall mounting TVs, and A/C installation. His prices are fair and affordable and I would recommend him to others who are in need of his services.
Zach S. Avatar
Zach S.
8/05/2019
5 star ratingI called Ryan up and arranged a time to check out what needed to be done. He was very busy, but, made time to demo my bathtub walls and redo the tile. Not easy to do as the tiles were glued to concrete. Ryan had all the correct tools to demo very quickly. After that put in new tiles and to save time and money I helped him with dumping the waste. While that is all drying he was able to put in a kitchenette for me. All in all great service and will call him again and refer him to my friends. Some before and after pics.
Ronny T. Avatar
Ronny T.
7/09/2019
5 star ratingRyan did a great job removing an old, damaged drywall ceiling from a room, and then installing and painting a new one. What a difference! Ryan was a pleasure to work with, took care in his work, and was clear and honest about pricing and the scope of the work. I would definitely call him again.
Guy K. Avatar
Guy K.
7/08/2019
5 star ratingFAST, FAIR, and FRIENDLY!!!! Handyman Services Hawaii is awesome! I highly recommend contacting for all your handyman needs!I messaged Ryan to install a wall-mounted TV into my tricky cinderblock walls, and to help with several new ceiling fans. He immediately got back to me and was at my house within 15 minutes! He went straight to work and did an excellent job. I couldn't be happier.I will definitely be using HSH again, and you should too!!!
Nile G. Avatar
Nile G.
5/08/2019
5 star ratingWe hired Ryan to fix a list of problems that have collected throughout our home over the years. Honestly, I called him the first time based on all the great reviews posted here. I'm glad I listened. The range of projects ranged from 2 electrical outlet replacements, a plumbing issue, fixing a broken closet door, replacing a screen door, and putting in new weather stripping on a kitchen door. Looking at my list, I feel embarrassed it got so long, but in a short time, he crossed each item off the list. I was so impressed with his work I've already scheduled him to replace a major kitchen appliance (a cooktop). I very highly recommend Ryan, he did a great job!
Lisa D. Avatar
Lisa D.
3/26/2019
5 star ratingI wanted to change my old outdated wooden screen door and called a few businesses that said they do screen doors. But did you know that it doesn't mean they all do security screen doors? Security screen type doors are a different animal.I knew that my doorway would require some wood framing because of it's unusual size so who better to do this type of job than a handyman. I Yelped through handyman and came across Handyman Services. I was delighted that I saw Terry K.'s used him and was very impressed with Ryan's work.So I made the call to Handyman Services (Ryan/Owner) and explained what I wanted, an estimate on installation of two doors. To my amazement, he said that he would be in my area in the afternoon. Sure enough he came by and took the measurements and within a couple of hours texted me the estimate. Now that's the kind of service that everyone expects, but rarely receive from any type business.I won't say how much the estimate was for, but I found it reasonable and less than I anticipated the job to be. I scheduled the next open date which was the following week. Ryan came by as scheduled and quickly framed and installed two security screen doors with some modifications.He's quick and efficient, also takes pride in the quality of his work. Will definitely use him for projects that I can't do around the house.
Brian M. Avatar
Brian M.
3/24/2019
5 star ratingRyan is an amazing handyman/ trained professional. His renovations knocked the ugly off of our Pearl City house. From ghetto to glamorous, it just sold for top dollar. His prices are "handyman" affordable but his work is showroom. Don't pay more for anyone less. Thanks again Ryan!Mary & Francis
Francis L. Avatar
Francis L.
2/02/2019
5 star ratingHandyman Services Hawaii has done an excellent job in responding to all of my questions and was very knowledgeable.He kept my requests and my budget in mind. He gave me an alternate idea about my project that was cost effective and looks great. The workmanship is exceptional and the owner has an attention to detail that the other handyman services don't have. If you want quick reliable service, I would recommend Handyman Services Hawaii to you.
Ronnie W. Avatar
Ronnie W.
12/21/2018
5 star ratingMahalo Ryan! You really made my floor look good as new after I spilled water on my laminate floor. You came to my house and fixed the floor in an hour. Really appreciate your hard work and kindness. Next time we need help with our floor for a reasonable price we will definitely call you again.
Marcie M. Avatar
Marcie M.
11/21/2018
5 star ratingHad a few things to do around the house. Back splash, security screen door and overhead garage storage racks. Ryan quoted me a very fair price over the phone and arrived as scheduled. Work was completed in two days like promised. My wife and I love the work he did and will definitely call him again if we need more help.
John M. Avatar
John M.
11/17/2018
5 star ratingI am a Realtor and was referred to Ryan by my Broker. I needed a thorough move-out cleaning of my condo.I called Ryan, he came over to assess what needed to be done the next day and did the job the next day after that. He told me how much he thought the job would cost and stuck to it even though it ended up being a bigger job than he had originally planned on.He maintained a great attitude with enthusiasm throughout, his work was beyond excellent and his attention to detail was amazing. He truly takes great pride in his work and has an impressive work ethic which is often hard to find.He is definitely my go-to guy now. THANK YOU SO MUCH RYAN!
Beverly S. Avatar
Beverly S.
8/22/2018
5 star ratingQuantity of Quality is often difficult to find, as well as, Integrity. Handyman Services Hawaii exceeded my expectations for both. I had experienced an unfinished and somewhat botched up job on a recent floor installation by "Kainoa", a "professional installer" who put in the flooring 5 months ago. Numerous calls, texts and missed appearances, and a recent appointment this past Wednesday, which was no-showed without a call or text, to Complete the project led me to find a fix/cure..Enter HHS! I called and explained my issues. An appointment was made for Thursday late afternoon. HHS arrived on time, assessed the issue and advised me of options. His technical excellence and knowledge base was incredible. After the price was agreed to, which was way less than I expected, based on my previous flooring experience, HHS began work and completed the task at hand. Workmanship and Craftsmanship are to be applauded! Have you ever met some who Loves their Work/Job? Try HHS out for your next Handyman job! You won't be disappointed or feel ripped off! HHS is No Ka Oi!!
Gil G. Avatar
Gil G.
8/17/2018
5 star ratingRyan is very hard working. He gets the job done quickly and his workmanship is exceptional. He is personable, helpful, accountable and very reliable. Best of all, he came up with some really creative solutions that ended up saving me a fair amount of money. People like Ryan deserve 6 stars.
Mike J. Avatar
Mike J.
7/27/2018
5 star ratingI don't know about you, but I'm always on the hunt for a good, reliable and trustworthy handyman who can help me on fixit things at my residence and my rental properties. Well, I need not look further as I think the person I found is a keeper. Here is my story:My condo was in dire need of new flooring. This go around, I elected to re-carpet the bedrooms and living room and use wood paneling for my hallways and kitchen. The carpets were done by my carpet installer and the wood flooring was handled by Handyman Services Hawaii. It was a seamless effort as Handyman Services did all the heavy work. He selected an assortment of patterns and colors for me to select from. Once I made my choice, he got the materials needed for installation including the coving, coordinated with my tenants and before I knew it, the job was done. I received a message from my tenant saying it was a terrific job and she was so very happy. A happy tenant makes for a happy landlord (or so I've learned).Last and of note; the rate for labor was simply a fair and great rate! I don't know if there was enough mark up on the materials which I should have asked, but then I was the lucky benefactor I guess for a great job completed at a great price!77/100 Yelp Review Challenge Los Angeles
Terry K. Avatar
Terry K.
7/27/2018
5 star ratingI've worked with countless handymen and contractors over the last 10 years of doing property management. Ryan responded right away, scheduled quickly, and did a fantastic job repairing a bathroom ceiling that was badly water damaged. He did flawless work. I know how difficult it can be to make damaged drywall look perfect. His work was perfect! Also retro fitted a new ceiling vent with ease. I've been told by others it could not be done...Ryan did it! Absolutely recommend, he's a great guy, very personable and responsible and his charge was extremely reasonable (I know a lot about that too). I'll be calling him for every job from now on.
Kelly B. Avatar
Kelly B.
5/06/2018